Home    Insight    Insight

Recognising outstanding female engineers is vital

 April 13, 2016

 Read time

Do you know aout the prestigious IET Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards that see the very best women engineers and technicians recognised and rewarded for their remarkable achievements.

The IET make it their priority to recognise exceptional engineers and technicians who share a common vision: working to engineer a better world.

Entries are generally sought for three categories which aim to celebrate success and highlight the accomplishments of young women engineers, working in the UK today.

The winner of an award will become an ambassador for engineering, raising the profile of the profession and helping to inspire the next generation.

Find out more about these annual awards.

Young Woman Engineer of the Year (YWE) award

Launched in 1978, it was originally known as the Girl Technician of the Year, but was changed to the Young Woman Engineer of the Year in 1988.

The YWE award was originally sponsored by the Caroline Haslett Memorial Trust, which provided scholarships and other educational opportunities for women seeking or already pursuing careers in electronic, electrical or mechanical engineering.

Dame Caroline Haslett (1895-1957) was the first Secretary of the Women’s Engineering Society (WES) out of which grew the Electrical Association for Women (EAW) and Dame Caroline was appointed its Director and Secretary. Through the Association she encouraged the use of power in the home believing that electricity was the real emancipator of women.

The Trust was formed in 1945 to commemorate the 21st anniversary of EAW and after Dame Caroline’s death it became a memorial to her. The Trust funds are now exhausted, but the IET continues to support the Young Woman of the Year Award.

The Mary George Memorial Prize for Apprentices

The late Mary George CBE joined EAW (Electrical Association for Women) in 1956 having previously been a Civil Servant with the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

She was appointed the Director and Secretary of EAW and after her death in 1983, a collection was organised by the Association to form a memorial fund to her. In 1985 the fund was used to inaugurate the Mary George Memorial Prize.

The prize is given to a young female apprentice who shows great promise and potential in the profession and is tipped to be one of tomorrow’s leaders in engineering.

Women’s Engineering Society (WES) Prize

The Women's Engineering Society is a professional, not-for-profit network of women engineers, scientists and technologists offering inspiration, support and professional development.

Working in partnership, WES campaigns to encourage women to participate and achieve as engineers, scientists and as leaders.

The Women’s Engineering Society Prize is awarded to a young female engineer who is able to engage and inspire young people’s involvement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).

She is also interested in the challenges women face in maintaining their career in engineering.

Find out more

Stay connected by subscribing to our monthly newsletter and following us on LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Disclosure: Where Women Work researches and publishes insightful evidence about how its paid member organizations support women's equality.

Share this page:

Join our women's careers community